FORNEY, Texas — Place 5 City of Forney Council member Mary Penn defeated incumbent Mayor Rick Wilson during the May 4 General Election to become the City of Forney's first female mayor, this according to unofficial election results released by Kaufman County.

Three city council member incumbents also defeated their challengers on Saturday night.

Penn, first elected to the city council in 2010, had previously challenged Wilson for the mayor's seat in 2015 — losing in a three-candidate race by 35 votes. The win for Wilson would become his first on the council. He later ran unopposed in 2017.

According to unofficial election results, which are to be certified next week, Penn garnered 752 total votes, or 52.70 percent, with Wilson garnering 675, or 47.30 percent. Penn garnered 486 of those votes in early voting with Wilson accumulating 448.

In the city council races, incumbent Place 2 City Council member Shaun Myers defeated challenger Michael Lopez with 733 votes to 687, respectively, or 51.62 and 48.38 percent.

Incumbent Place 4 City Council member Kevin Moon defeated challenger Ken Hill with 709 votes to 694, respectively, or 50.53 and 49.47 percent.

Incumbent Place 6 City Council member David Johnson defeated challenger Reef Gillum with 740 votes to 633, respectively, or 53.9 and 46.1 percent.

"I'm overwhelmed by the support and confidence from the citizens of Forney," Penn said in a statement to "I am excited to move Forney forward and am appreciative of all those who helped and believed in me throughout this campaign and those in years past."

With the win, Penn's Place 5 seat will be vacated. Officials with the City of Forney were unavailable at the time of press to confirm the procedure of filling that position.