Photo courtesy Forney ISD

FORNEY, Texas — The Forney Independent School District swore in a new police chief and eight new police officers for the newly formed district police department.

Forney ISD Board of Trustees and Forney ISD Superintendent Dr. Justin Terry officially swore in the new officers during Monday night's August Board of Trustees Meeting.

Dr. Terry first swore in Forney ISD Chief of Police Joseph Sanders. Earlier this year, Sanders joined the district as the Director of Safety & Security as work began on forming the department.

Sanders joined Forney ISD after serving as a lieutenant with the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Police Department for eight years. "He was an integral part in the formation of the newly created Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Police Department in 2012, according to the district.

After he was sworn in, Sanders swore in his eight officers.

"This is the first time that Forney ISD has had its own police department to protect and support the students and staff of Forney ISD!" read a statement from the district.

“I am looking forward to becoming a part of the growing community and especially becoming a part of the Forney ISD family," Sanders said at the time of his hiring in March. "We realize that you have entrusted us with your most precious resource, your children. We will strive to be effective leaders in our community. Our mission is to provide a safe learning environment where our students, faculty, support staff, and district property are protected."

“Our department will be innovative," he continued. "We will make an impact in the lives of our students through education and mentoring. Together, we will make this agency a destination location for future generations of school-based law enforcement personnel.”

While at Cypress-Fairbanks ISD as a lieutenant, Sanders oversaw a 147 member department with 111 officers that serve 117 campuses, over 116,00 students and 17,000 employees.

Forney ISD has campuses located in multiple law enforcement jurisdictions including the Kaufman County Sheriff’s Department, Kaufman County Constables, Forney Police Department, Talty Police Department, and Mesquite Police Department; and was the only district in the county without its own police department.